Skip to content

Executive Board and Staff


President Chuck Richardson  

Chuck Richardson serves as the President of SFFMA.


1st Vice President Donny Boggs 

Donny Boggs serves as the 1st Vice President of SFFMA. He is the retired training director and chief of Recruit Fire Training Academies at Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service.


2nd Vice President Curtis Brown

Curtis Brown serves as the 2nd Vice President of SFFMA.  He is a chief for the Dalhart Fire Department.


3rd Vice President Billy Tidwell

Billy Tidwell serves as the 3rd Vice President of SFFMA. He is the chief for Ralls Fire Department.


4th Vice President Mark Wobus

Mark Wobus serves as the 4th Vice President of SFFMA.


Secretary Brent Allen

Brent Allen serves as the Secretary of SFFMA. He is an assistant chief for the Ballinger Fire Department and secretary of the Hill Country District.


Assistant Secretary Michael Richter

Michael Richter serves as the Assistant Secretary of SFFMA.

He is the Certification Coordinator for Needville Fire Department.


Chaplain Ben Kennedy

Ben Kennedy serves as the chaplain of SFFMA.


Immediate Past President Richard Van Winkle

Richard Van Winkle serves as the Immediate Past President of SFFMA.

21Rayford (2)

Board Appointed Parliamentarian Rayford Gibson

Rayford Gibson serves as the board appointed Parliamentarian.
He is the fire chief of the Tatum Fire Department, and has been a member at Tatum for 32  years. He is retired but still conducts classes as a part-time instructor with the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service.


SFFMA Mascot Casey Johnston

Casey Johnston serves as the SFFMA Mascot.


Executive Director Tim Rutland

Tim Rutland serves as the executive director of SFFMA.  His responsibilities include managing the business of the association; working closely with the executive board to advance the interests of SFFMA; researching, negotiating, and implementing membership benefits; forming and maintaining relationships with other fire protection stakeholder groups; providing testimony at various legislative venues; and other duties as assigned or delegated by the association’s leadership.  Tim began his fire service with the Corpus Christi Fire Department in 1982, and has been active in the Texas fire service since that time.



SFFMA has a dedicated staff working for you!

Tim Rutland, Executive Director
Jon Barron, Facilitator/Special Projects
Julie Wegmiller, Sales Manager
Kevin Creamer, Certification Administrator/Industrial Coordinator
Heather Lundy, Certification Assistant/Event Coordinator
Teresa Junkin, Membership Assistant/Bookkeeper
Edward Palacio, Membership/International Coordinator